ILS Mentor of the year 2016

On May 8th, the ILS Doctoral Program announced the awards for Mentor of the year 2016. Last fall, the ILS student council invited nominations from all ILS students, asking them to describe the appreciable qualities of their mentors.

A total of 8 nominations were received, highlighting the positive aspects of the mentors such as:

  • Letting the student to be independent
  • Letting them make decisions regarding their projects
  • Giving importance to brainstorming regarding the students project, especially in the beginning
  • Being excited about the students project
  • Motivating the students in the face of negative results
  • Availability
  • Having a social and friendly relationship with the student

Dr. Krister Wennerberg and Dr. David Fewer were chosen as the mentors of the year, based on the testimonials. Krister Wennerberg is a PI at the Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland (FIMM) and David Fewer works at the Division of Microbiology and Biotechnology, Department of Food and Environmental Sciences.

The awardees mentioned in their acceptance speech that they were extremely honored by receiving this award. They think that as a PI it’s also their responsibility to train the next generation of scientists, and a good way to do this is to get the students to be excited about their projects so that they are the ones who are driving it forward. And the best way to do that is to discuss about ideas and brainstorm with the students and let the student figure the way out himself/herself.

Nominations also included Eija Jokitalo (EM Unit, BI), Maarja Mikkola (Developmental Biology Program, BI), Susanna Fagerholm (Biosciences), Frederic Michon (Developmental Biology Program, BI), Andrii Domanskyi (BI), Eeva Sievi (DS Health) and Erkki Raulo (ILS) who were also acknowledged and felicitated at the event.

We congratulate both mentors and nominees and wish them to keep up their good work as role models.

ILS Student Council




ILS Student Council mailing list
ils-council at helsinki dot fi
Contact for joining the council and for general information about what we do

Kornelia Mikula
kornelia.mikula at helsinki dot fi
Contact for joining the council and for general information about what we do

Gergana Gateva
gergana.gateva at helsinki dot fi

Heidi Haikala
heidi.haikala at helsinki dot fi

Elina Pietilä
elina.a.pietila at helsinki dot fi

Sigurdur Gudmundsson
sigurdur.gudmundsson at helsinki dot fi

Tuomo Hartonen
tuomo.hartonen at helsinki dot fi

Maarja Laos
maarja.laos at helsinki dot fi

Sawan Jha
jha.sawankumar at helsinki dot fi

Kul Shrestha
kul.shrestha at helsinki dot fi

Alok Jaiswal
alok.jaiswal at helsinki dot fi

Mridul Johari
mridul.johari at helsinki dot fi

Lydia Sagath
lydia.sagath at helsinki dot fi

Behnam Lak
behnam.lak at helsinki dot fi

Former ILS Student Council members

Markku Hakala

Heini Hakala

Kaisa Rajakylä

Rita Cerejeira Matos

Jaakko Lehtimäki