NordWel Research Centre

Nordic Centre of Excellence: The Nordic Welfare State – Historical Foundations and Future Challenges (NordWel), is a multi-disciplinary, cross-national research centre of eight partner units in Nordic universities, that operated in 2007-2014 as a part of NordForsk Nordic Centre of Excellence programme on welfare. It was coordinated at the University of Helsinki, Department of Political and Economic Studies, Section of Social Science History.


Director of the Centre: Pauli Kettunen, Professor of Political History at the University of Helsinki.

Vice Director of the Centre: Klaus Petersen, Professor in the Centre for Welfare State Research at the University of Southern Denmark, Odense.

Coordinator of the Centre: Ms Heidi Haggrén  was responsible for administration and communications. University of Helsinki, Department of Political and Economic Studies, Section of Social Science History.

Management Group

Professor Pauli Kettunen, University of Helsinki, chair
Professor Klaus Petersen, University of Southern Denmark, Odense
Professor Guðmundur Jonsson, University of Iceland, Reykjavik
Senior Researcher Nanna Kildal, Stein Rokkan Centre for Social Studies, Bergen
Professor Stein Kuhnle, University of Bergen / Hertie School of Governance, Berlin
Researcher Urban Lundberg, Institute for Future Studies / University of Stockholm
Professor Pirjo Markkola, University of Jyväskylä / Åbo Akademi University
Associate Professor Bente Rosenbeck, University of Copenhagen
Professor Kari Melby, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim
Professor Bo Stråth, University of Helsinki

International Reference Group

Professor Christoph Conrad, University of Geneva
Professor Kees van Kersbergen, VU University Amsterdam
Professor Marju Lauristin, University of Tartu
Professor Christopher Lloyd, University of New England, Australia
Professor Sonya Michel, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Washington/University of Maryland
Professor Uffe Østergaard Copenhagen Business School
Professor Bo Rothstein, Gothenburg University
Professor Theda Skocpol, Harvard University
Professor Pat Thane, University of London

International Reference Group acted as scientific adviser for the Management Group and supported it in creating international contacts.