CONFIRMED KEYNOTE SPEAKERS: Amy Kaplan (University of Pennsylvania), Graeme Wynn (University of British Columbia), and Alan Taylor (University of Virginia). For 2018 Preliminary Program, see PDF: SESSIONS MLE 2018 as of April 16

The biennial Maple Leaf & Eagle Conference in North-American Studies has been organized since 1986 by the North American Studies Program in Area and Cultural Studies, Department of Cultures, P. O. Box 59 (Unioninkatu 38 A), 00014 University of Helsinki, Finland. For futher information on the Maple Leaf & Eagle Conference organization, contact mapleleaf-eagle[at] or Conference Director Ari Helo at ari.helo[at]

Despite our regular registration procedures for speakers, the conference sessions are open to all students and faculty of the University of Helsinki.

Conference Committee 2018: Professor Mikko Saikku (Committee Chair); Ari Helo (Conference Director); Professor Daniel Cobb; Professor Patrick Miller; University Lecturer Mark Shackleton; Research Fellow Rani-Henrik Andersson; Saara Kekki; Anna Koivusalo; Anna-Leena Korpijärvi; Paula Saari; Janne Salminen; Marika Sandell; and Juho Turpeinen

For futher information on the 2018 Maple Leaf & Eagle Conference, contact mapleleaf-eagle[at] or Conference Director Ari Helo at ari.helo[at]


  • University of Helsinki (University Management, Department of Cultures, PYAM/PSRC Doctoral Program)
  • Finnish National Agency for Education, GSA Program
  • TSV, Federation of Finnish Learned Societies
  • Embassy of Canada to Finland | Ambassade du Canada en Finlande
  • Fulbright Finland Foundation
  • Embassy of the United States to Finland