The winners/recipients of our travel grants (the award committee decision, Feb. 3, 2018):

1. Hanna Smyth (University of Oxford); 2. Niko Heikkilä (University of Turku); 3. Mark A. Brandon (Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich); and 4. Jenna Kirker (McMaster University).

Our warmest congratulations to winners!

MLE Travel Awards Competition (deadline Jan. 20, 2018)

The Conference Committee has announced an open competition for MLE Travel Awards for Graduate Students. All students accepted to the 2018 Maple Leaf & Eagle Conference in Helsinki may apply. We will offer 3-5 awards each amounting to the sum of 550 Euro / 600 USD. Awards will not be offered as money transfers but as 4 free hotel nights in Helsinki (Hotel Arthur) during the conference. Travel award grantees will also be exempt from the conference registration fee and have full registration rights (all receptions, lunches, and coffees during the conference).

We ask you to write the text of your conference presentation (3,000-5,500 words, 6-10 pages, including any footnotes and a short bibliography) and to submit it as a word document by email to Ari Helo (ari.helo[at] by January 20, 2018. A special panel will read and evaluate the papers and we will publish the names of winners in early February on this website.