The CoE in Reason and Religious Recognition is directed by Professor Risto Saarinen with Virpi Mäkinen acting as Vice Director. They constitute the administrative Board of the CoE together with Team Leaders Ismo Dunderberg, Outi Lehtipuu, Taneli Kukkonen and Sami Pihlström, Researchers’ Representative Maijastina Kahlos, and the CoE’s Coordinator Kaisu Taskila.

The CoE is divided into three research teams: Christianity, Judaism, and Greco-Roman Thought; Medieval and Early Modern Thought (Latin and Arabic), and Contemporary Philosophy of Religion. Each team has senior and post-doctoral researchers as well as doctoral students.

The Christianity, Judaism, and Greco-Roman Thought team is led by Professor Ismo Dunderberg and University Lecturer Outi Lehtipuu. The team includes four senior researchers (Raimo Hakola, Niko Huttunen, Maijastina Kahlos, and Miira Tuominen), four post-doctoral researchers (Ivan Miroshnikov, Ulla Tervahauta-Helin, Siiri Toiviainen, and Sami Yli-Karjanmaa), and two doctoral students (Joona Salminen, and Anna-Liisa Tolonen).

The Medieval and Early Modern Thought (Latin and Arabic) team is led by Virpi Mäkinen (responsible for research into Latin authors) and Taneli Kukkonen (responsible for research into Arabic authors). The team has four senior researchers (Jari Kaukua, Pekka Kärkkäinen, Antti Ruotsala, and Juhana Toivanen)), seven post-doctoral researchers (Nicholas Faucher, Heikki Haara, Janne Mattila, Ilse Paakkinen, Ritva Palmén, Timothy Riggs, and Sami-Juhani Savonius-Wroth), and one doctoral student (Panu-Matti Pöykkö).

The Contemporary Philosophy of Religion team is led by Sami Pihlström. The team consists of four senior researchers (Heikki J. Koskinen, Minna Hietamäki, Hanne Appelqvist, and Aku Visala), and five post-doctoral researchers (Sara Gehlin, Mikko Heimola, Elina Hellqvist, Heikki Kovalainen, and Olli-Pekka Moisio).