CfP: “The Good, the One, the Many” Conference

Call for Papers

“THE GOOD, THE ONE, AND THE MANY” — 1st Conference of The Nordic Network for the History of Philosophy,
University of Jyväskylä, 5-7 June 2015

The event is co-organized by the Centre of Excellence in Reason and Religious Recognition Research.

We hereby invite abstracts for papers related to the topic of the conference but in any area of the history of philosophy. We are particularly interested in papers discussing the relationship between the common good and the private good; metaphysical unity and plurality; and whether and how the metaphysical underpinnings affect the discussions concerning the good of an individual and the good of social, political, or religious communities.  We welcome suggestions for individual papers (presentation time including discussion 30 minutes) as well as joint panels (90 minutes). Proposals, which will be evaluated by the board of the network, are invited from senior researchers as well as from graduate students. For the latter there will be two designated workshops.

Invited speakers include: Joseph Almog (University of Turku), Olli Koistinen (University of Turku), Arto Laitinen (University of Tampere), Roberto Lambertini (University of Macerata), Camilla Serck-Hansen (University of Oslo), Lisa Shapiro (Simon Fraser University).

Proposals should consist of two separate documents:

1) The title and the abstract (maximum 300 words) of your paper. The abstract should clearly state at least the following: the topic of the presentation, the manner in which the paper contributes to this topic, as well as the general argument of the paper.

2) A separate cover letter including the following information: your name, academic position, affiliation, and contact information; the title of your presentation

To submit a proposal, send it as an email attachment to the following address:

Please ensure that the subject line of the email reads: NHP 2015 Proposal

Deadline for submission: 14 January 2015. Decisions will communicated by 27 February 2015.

On behalf of the organising committee,
Juhana Toivanen